Fun Palaces and Chinwag

So I’m writing this from my sick bed. Not essential that you know that but yes I’m feeling pretty snotty. I’ve been fighting it off all week. Thought I might get away without a lying in bed being ill day but I’ve succumbed. I had to leave the pub early yesterday evening and come home and fall asleep in front of Strictly Come Dancing. But don’t worry! Never fear! You can’t catch it by reading this (I hope). Also – I’m going to pull through, I’ve got a roll of absorbent tissue and I can see the other side of this. I’m confident I’ll be back on my feet in a matter of days. Tomorrow probably. Just in time to catch the train to London to go along to Stella Duffy and Sarah-Jane Rawlings Open Space on Fun Palaces I hope.*

But I meant to tell you about something else… Ah Yes, Chinwag.

Chinwag is the name for the meet-up thing I’m organising at the Cambridge Junction. It’s an opportunity for performance makers of all stripes to get together for a chat and then see a show if we like.  I can now reveal that the first ever Chinwag will be happening on – wait for it – drumroll please! – Thursday the 24th October. If this sounds like your kind of thing you are most welcome to come along and find me at the Junction and then in the evening this will be happening http://www.junction.co.uk/artist/5701

Congratulations for reading this far! There’ll be more coherent, less rambling invites over the next couple of weeks.

Best wishes,

Hugh

*You know, Fun Palaces, what Joan Littlewood and Cedric Price dreamt up in 1961. What the Pompidou centre is supposed to be (and maybe it is one). Tents, foyers, halls, car parks, squares filled with music, dance, movies, science, politics, TV, theatre, art, stories, lectures, play – FUN. Made by local people for local people. Fun Palaces, where one can “Learn how to handle tools, paint, babies, machinery, or just listen to your favourite tune. Dance, talk or be lifted up to where you can see how other people make things work. Sit out over space with a drink and tune in to what’s happening elsewhere in the city. Try starting a riot or beginning a painting – or just lie back and stare at the sky.” Fun Palaces which look set to be popping up across the UK next October (Littlewood’s centenary).

About hughchapmansblog

Poet and performance maker based in Cambridge and London

One response to “Fun Palaces and Chinwag

  1. stelladuffy

    Feel better and hope to see you tomorrow. Happy Joan’s 99th birthday. Chinwag sounds great.

Leave a Reply

